Not the Same Old Thing – Indian Chicken Stir Fry

Last winter we hit a bit of a rut with our weeknight cooking. Both Chef J and The Boy were getting a bit tired of the same-old-same-old so I went on a Pinterest quest. Until about a year ago, I didn’t fully “get” Pinterest. But when I finally started messing around with it, I realized I could find some pretty good stuff if I just searched a general idea of what I wanted to make with a few key word ingredients. I think I may have searched “sweet spicy asian chicken” when I came across Indian Sticky Chicken on a website called Simply Delicious. I didn’t know what I was looking for but found EXACTLY what I wanted.

1
Mix spices together and coat chicken pieces well. Let sit while you start rice. As soon as you have it going, start cooking the chicken and it should all be ready about the same time.

You know I adore Indian food and, although not strictly Indian, this certainly hits a lot of those notes. And all of the ingredients are stuff that I typically have on hand. Because we make Chicken Tikka Masala fairly often, I always have garam masala on hand and we have a neighbor who is a beekeeper so I can usually get good local honey. This was a no brainer. You could mix this up by using Chinese Five Spice or a Mexican spice blend (maybe with honey and lime?) but I really do like this.  I’ve adapted the original recipe in that I use regular paprika instead of smoked and I’ve added a little spicy kick, but otherwise I’ve stuck pretty close to the original recipe. Next time I might add a little cumin and coriander to make give it a little more intense Indian flavor but this is absolutely delicious just like I’ve written.

2
Saute chicken in oil. When browned and cooked through, add honey and then lemon juice. Allow to simmer a few minutes until sauce is thickened.

This is a great weeknight meal. I generally serve this with some steamed rice and a green vegetable like sugar snaps or green beans. If you want to get this meal on the table in about a half hour then gather all of your ingredients and let the chicken hang out in the spices. Start the rice and once it’s going, then start heating the oil for the chicken. It’ll come together all about the same time. Quick, delicious and totally satisfying. Enjoy!

Indian Chicken Stir Fry

  • 6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs, cut into bite size pieces
  • 2 T garam masala
  • 1 t paprika
  • 1 t coarse kosher salt
  • 1 pinch (a little less than 1/4 t) cayenne pepper
  • 1-2 T vegetable oil
  • 1/2 C honey
  • juice of 1 lemon (it might be too much so taste after about half of the lemon)
  • fresh chopped cilantro for garnish, optional

Mix together garam masala, paprika, cayenne and salt. Sprinkle over chicken pieces and toss to coat well.

Heat oil in large non-stick pan or wok over medium-high heat. Add chicken pieces and saute, turning occasionally, until brown and cooked through, about 5-10 minutes.

Add honey to pan and toss to coat well. Stir in lemon juice (mine needed only half a lemon) and allow to simmer for another 3-5 minutes or until sauce is thickened and sticky.

Garnish with chopped cilantro and serve with rice and a green vegetable.

IMG_8465.JPG
Seriously y’all, beginning to end, this whole meal took maybe 25 minutes. Perfect weeknight meal!
Leave a Reply

